Ticket #2307 (new defect)

Opened 13 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

Modified cursor keys not recognised in Cygwin xterm

Reported by: andy.koppe Owned by:
Priority: major Milestone: Future Releases
Component: mc-tty Version: 4.7.3
Keywords: Cc: mwisnicki@…
Blocked By: Blocking:
Branch state: no branch Votes for changeset:


Shift+cursor key combinations do not work in Cygwin xterm (and the xterm-compatible mintty). I've tried it both with the 4.6.1 package that's still shipped with Cygwin, and with 4.7.3 built from source with 'configure --with-screen=ncursesw'.

Cygwin's terminfo, which is pretty much unmodified upstream, contains the following relevant entries for xterm (in the xterm+pcc2 fragment):

kLFT=\E[1;2D, kRIT=\E[1;2C, kind=\E[1;2B,
kri=\E[1;2A, kDN=\E[1;2B, kUP=\E[1;2A,

These do match the keycodes being sent. Now the strange thing is that if I remove those entries from terminfo.src and rebuilt the terminfo database, the shift+cursor key combinations work as expected. Similarly, they also work when running with TERM=rxvt, although of course that's a bad idea and other things break.

The same happens for combinations with Ctrl and Alt.

Change History

comment:1 Changed 13 years ago by mwisnicki

  • Cc mwisnicki@… added

comment:2 Changed 12 years ago by andrew_b

  • Branch state set to no branch
  • Milestone changed from 4.7 to Future Releases

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by plgrm44

mc 4.8.11, cygwin 1.7.28 and this problem is still exists

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.