Ticket #2265 (closed enhancement: wontfix)

Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

mcedit quit dialog

Reported by: masics Owned by: andrew_b
Priority: trivial Milestone: 4.7.4
Component: mcedit Version: 4.7.3
Keywords: Cc: zaytsev
Blocked By: Blocking:
Branch state: Votes for changeset: committed-master

Description

Please revert change of mcedit quit dialog - we are working with different versions and it is very confusing.
In old versions it was "[ Cancel quit ] [ Yes ] [ No ]" while in the new it is "[ Yes ] [ No ] [ Cancel quit ]".

Change History

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • Priority changed from major to trivial
  • Version changed from 4.7.2 to 4.7.3

In all MC dialogs button [OK] is at left, button [Cancel] is at right.

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • Summary changed from ncedit quit dialog to mcedit quit dialog

comment:3 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

  • Cc zaytsev added

I don't think that reverting this dialog to an inconsistent state is not a good idea. As you upgrade all the machines the problem will disappear, but if it's reverted now, then there will never be an opportunity to standardize it, because every time people will be telling that they are running into problems in the transition phase.

Also I think they way you use this dialog is wrong, because you rely on the positions of the buttons (which can change) instead of accelerators (which should never change). Just use c, y and & n to select the buttons instead of the arrows and it will work independently of the mc version.

I agree, however, that it would be nice to set Cancel quit as a default (not change the position of the buttons, just make it selected by default).

comment:4 Changed 9 years ago by masics

in version 4.6.1 it is different.
We are all used to use this dialog for years. The new version of MC will not be included into RH4 and I'm not sure about RH5. So, this is very disappointing to LOOSE changes because of this "standardization".

comment:5 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

This is not a valid argument. You can always update mc from my repositories (I will fix the build bot as soon as I can find time for it). It's not a core component of RHEL which can influence the reliability and stability of the system.

The reason why you are LOOSING changes now is that you made a wrong habit and now are enjoying the consequences. Why wouldn't you use accelerators instead, so that you will never have any problems like this in the future?

To me it's a wontfix.

comment:6 Changed 9 years ago by masics

My "bad habit" is based on speed. It is much faster to press Esc-Esc-right-enter than moving fingers to 'y' key. Also, you might re-think saving, so you have time to cancel it.
I can update mc at home but at work I am not in charge and have no root rights.

comment:7 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

Pressing Esc-Esc-y is no slower than Esc-Esc-Right-Enter since you are using your both hands anyway, unless you have some very special non-standard finger layout. If you want to cancel saving just take a pause after you type Esc-Esc.

What's the problem to compile it at home an unpack to ~/opt at work? Works fine for me.

comment:8 Changed 9 years ago by masics

This change just made me and other people angry.

comment:9 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

That's life...

comment:10 Changed 9 years ago by slavazanko

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to wontfix

comment:11 Changed 9 years ago by angel_il

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Resolution wontfix deleted

comment:12 Changed 9 years ago by slavazanko

Ticketstarter: may be, good way for resolve your trouble is make default focus on [cancel] button? In this case, behaviour of exit dialog will returns...

comment:13 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

  • Owner set to andrew_b
  • Status changed from reopened to assigned

This ticket has been reopened to make the following change: the order of the buttons stay the same as right now, but upon the creation of the dialog the focus is on the [ Cancel quit ] button.

comment:14 Changed 9 years ago by lly

I also vote to return old mcedit quit dialog behavior - [Cancel quit] by default, [Yes] by one press right button.

comment:15 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • severity changed from no branch to on review
  • Milestone changed from 4.7 to 4.7.4

Created 2256_edit_quit_dialog_buttons branch. Parent branch is master.
changeset:f660c97698a90234bba8e1e9b61999993ac2db69

comment:16 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

  • Votes for changeset set to zaytsev

comment:17 Changed 9 years ago by angel_il

  • Votes for changeset changed from zaytsev to zaytsev angel_il
  • severity changed from on review to approved

comment:18 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • Status changed from assigned to testing
  • Votes for changeset changed from zaytsev angel_il to committed-master
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • severity changed from approved to merged

comment:19 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • Status changed from testing to closed

comment:20 Changed 9 years ago by ossi

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Resolution fixed deleted

i'm against this change. this "quit sequence" is so laborious that i got into the habit of explicitly pressing f2 before hitting escape. no other editor i know would default to cancel - simply because it makes totally no sense.

to make the angry "legacy users" less angry, one could implement this "ui hack": if the discard button is activated a) within one (half?) second of opening the dialog and b) with the enter/space key, then show a second confirmation dialog. the dialog would also have a "never ask again" checkbox. this shouldn't be too annoying for everyone else. the hack could be removed after two years or so.

on a related note, the question should be "File was modified. Save before quitting?". otherwise "no" and "cancel quit" would be logically equivalent.

comment:21 Changed 9 years ago by Polynomial-C

I'm strongly for this change. As a happy user of midnight-commander for nearly twelve years now I got so used to this behaviour that it's very hard to get rid of it. Without this change I had to edit files several times because I always did "F10 -> cursor right -> enter" which resulted in the file not being saved.
If you really want to get the default changed please leave some possibility for users with this habit to return to the old behaviour. Otherwise it would make editing with mc very painful.

comment:22 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

  • Status changed from reopened to closed
  • Resolution set to wontfix

I really don't understand what we are talking about? Before change in 4.7.2 release the buttons were:

[<Cancel quit>] [Yes] [No]

In 4.7.2 release, the order and default button were changed:

[<Yes>] [No] [Cancel quit]

As a result of this ticket, the default button was changed:

[Yes] [No] [<Cancel quit>]

For those, who presses F10->Right->Enter, the behaviour of this dialog is absolutely the same
as was before 4.7.2.

comment:23 Changed 9 years ago by andrew_b

Ops, sorry... 4.7.3 must be in the previous comment instead of 4.7.2.

comment:24 Changed 9 years ago by zaytsev

Amen.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.